No smoking but some sewing

Not smoking:  Going exceptionally well.  I’ve really lost the desire completely… even though I still get mental pangs… triggers if you will.  It is strange to not want to do something yet still have ‘craves’ for it.  Such is the matter of addiction perhaps.

It’s actually pretty easy not to want to smoke though when I get to see how much better I feel not smoking.  Chest doesn’t hurt.  Sinuses aren’t always fucked up.  I don’t get winded carrying anything that weighs over 10 lbs for more than 5 minutes.  Heh.  My anxiety levels go down quite a bit.  I’m not convinced I could die of a heart attack or stroke every moment of the day (why yes I am slightly ocd).  I begin to believe my body can overcome my abuse to it.

**

I returned the crappy Singer sewing machine to Walmart with no plans of exchanging it for another Singer after reading crappy reviews for the crappy machine.  While I was there I ended up seeing a Brother computerized limited edition one which was strangely cheaper than the other Brother computerized machine with less stitch functions.  I couldn’t help but to decide to try it.  It was only $40 more and at that point, I had saved that much by not smoking.  Let’s spend that money! Haha.  It was computerized.  And had all these wonderful stitch functions.  I couldn’t resist.

I got it home and had it up and running in 5 minutes.  Unlike the stupid Singer that took me forever to get the stupid machine threaded and the bobbin in and working right.

Admittedly, I’m not the greatest at sewing machines.  Most of my life, any sewing projects have been undertook by hand.  So a sewing machine is this big fast thing that replaces the slow steady delicate by hand procedure.  It will take some getting used to and learning some techniques, that is for sure.

My first dog hoodie for Nacho was absolutely dreadful, but it was 4 am and me pushing the foot pedal of the machine to the floor to speed through the process once I realized I screwed up the whole project  from the very beginning in not cutting the pattern right haha

I have however about completed a purse that I am pretty pleased with for my attempt.

***

I have to say, I have been feeling extremely blessed to have had the time I have to work on my various projects.  I know that that will end abruptly when classes start back up and things will probably go on the back burner for a little while in regards to my “oh gee I actually enjoy this” activities.

***

Lately I have been thinking about if I could get to the point where I could sell some of the stuff I make, how much I would enjoy taking it to craft shows and events around the area.  Of course these cost money to be a part of… essentially the whole spend money to make money thing I guess.  And we all know that handmade items don’t seem to fetch the price equal to the effort put into them.  But it would be fun… or maybe start a small online place where I sell stuff and see how it goes.

***

Leave a Reply

