Spirit

Last night I went to sleep with something on my mind…. and woke up with the same thing on my mind.

I’ve been thinking a lot about a need to find purpose in life… not in the sense of career, education, family, ect. Those things are important in purpose yes, but in this case I am talking about spirituality… or find what I believe and being comfortable with that.

I am envious of people who know what they believe about the spiritual world and are 100% comfortable with their beliefs.

I used to be 100% sure… and I was more at peace during that time. Somewhere along the way, doubts started to creep into my mind and I felt more and more like I didn’t know what the personal truth was for me.

But now…. I just have this overwhelming urge to fill this spiritual void in my life. I feel it is very very vital that I do this. I don’t know why, but I just feel it so very intensely.

A lot of my doubts about my personal belief system started coming when I started taking the comparative religion courses in college. There was just so much I didn’t know about the histories of these religions I was raised around… and I think it led to a lot of me thinking… about where faith begins and ends when it comes to being compared to facts and knowledge.

But I am realizing… at the end of the day… it can’t be just about facts and educational knowledge. There still has to be something within, that believes in the power that is beyond ourselves. And that confuses me…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shane
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 04:10:17

    Yes, it can be confusing. And doubts are good. Follow them, and they will bring you to the truth. The Bible says that we are made in God’s imagine. So we know that there is a place within each of us that longs to be full. Looking at your pictures on the sidebar show the beauty of creation, which will lead you to the creator. On this side of heaven, faith is what brings us to be 100% sure. But many people will tell you only God holds the key to 100% knowledge. We’ll never completely understand here on earth. Blessings on your path.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

