ice storm

Been having major internet withdrawals… internet was down for 2 solid days.  OH NOES lol

Ended up getting a pretty gnarly ice storm yesterday. So it would be seeing I mocked the forecast. Shortly after I did so, ice began falling from the sky.

Power went out at around 6 am Friday and didn’t come back on until 7:30 pm that night.  It was out for over 100,000 across the city and I heard today that some people STILL don’t have power and might not until Wednesday.  I would die.

So apparently yes, the ice did major damage.  We got 1.5″ of ice falling along with some heavy rain.  Which proceeded to freeze.  Since I’ve been out I’ve seen various large trees that have been broken by the ice.

So Friday I sat in my house w/o power.  At first it was fine.  I at least had my laptop battery charged so I could play The Sims and watch DVDs, ect.

I was at first quite intrigued by the newfound silence in my house.  I realized how much something is always going…making noise.  There is practically always a television on.  It was kind of strange to hear the wind outside… Snickers scrounging around in his cage.

B/c almost no light came into the apartment all day… I had quite a vast array of candles lit.  This led me to discover the absolute thrill of bathing (or in my case, showering) by candlelight. Why have I never done this before just for the hell of it? I’m a woman, we’re told since we’re like 3 that bathing by candlelight is the awesome girly thing to do lol
And yet I never have until today out of necessity. Now I am stricken by the fantasy of filling up my tub with hot water and lots of bubbles surrounded by lots of candles and just marinating in there.

The ice also took down my Christmas lights which are now laying in an ice covered pile on the patio *sigh*

I went out and took some pictures. Then it started pelting me with millions of ice drops but I think I got some good ones considering what I’m working with as far as cameras go.

The ice sucks, but still, it is absolutely wonderous outside, everything being coated in a thick layer of ice. It’s stunning in every way imaginable.
Admittedly though, I have very little
experience with taking nature photos that involve snow or ice. It’s just something I have rarely done. Probably because when winter comes, I prefer to stay away from the great outdoors. Although I do secretly think
it would be awesome to go to my regular picture taking stomping grounds when they are covered in snow and ice and get a new perspective on them.

No internet proves to make for a productive Raychel though.  I clean liked a mad woman, did several loads of laundry… and have almost completed my mom’s bracelet (minus the clasps).  My sister’s is still a work in process as I strung it up and decided I hated the scheme I had come up with.

But yeah… power is back… my beloved internet is back lol  and I have to say this ice storm gave me tremendous inspiration when it came to taking photos.  Although so very cold and frigid, it is oh so beautiful.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 19:53:02

    I love all of the photos but especially the berry pictures. Now go soak in a hot tub! 🙂

    Merry Christmas and all my love,
    Diane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

