What is One Day in the Course of Our Lives?

If everything  went “right”… it doesn’t seem to matter so much in the course of 1 day.  1 day going right seems to mean so little to me currently.  It’s the long run that I remain focused on… what would the next week, month, year look like if everything went “right”?

I think most people get caught up in that, when in reality there is no way to know if we even have another week, month or year left here.  Sure, we think with some certainity that we do, because that is just how we are but the reality is the old cliche is true, it’s not even today that we have but just this moment.  One moment to the next.  It means very little, one day… one right day or even one day left on this earth.  But maybe it should mean more.  Maybe in a way that is where I’ve gone wrong in my thinking and my planning. Mapping out next week or next year holds little value when you actually think about it because there is really nothing there.  It’s planning for something that doesn’t exist yet… and might not ever exist.  It sounds depressing, but it’s really not.  It’s more of a reminder to live in the moment.

I had no idea that my life would lead me down the path that it did.  If at any point in time you would have told me the things that would have taken place in my life that really made significant impacts I probably would have told you that you were batshit insane.

I can say that one day doesn’t matter, but how many times has it been one day that changed the course of our lives?  It’s amazingly ironic really.  To not live in the moment and then to have a moment come and absolutely change everything forever.  I guess that explains death pretty well eh.  And then somehow, you’re stuck there where time seemed to freeze.  The moment is captured for much too long.  Life is weird like that.  Way too much.

I always wondered what it would be like if we actualy could live in the moment every single second of our lives.  I don’t think as human beings we’re capa ble of that but it’s an interesting thought nonetheless.  It seems like it would be a much more peaceful existence.  After all, animals seem to rarely suffer the same neuroticisms as humans and I think it’s because they don’t have this concept really of past or future.  Just now.

It’s funny how the days when everything did go right don’t seem to register as strongly as the ones where everything went wrong.  Negative emotions cling on so much stronger than positive ones and I have no idea why.  I can tell you about some of the happiest days of my life but they don’t make my heart flutter in the same way as the saddest days make it sink.

Sometimes I wonder what it matters that we remember hurt, sadness, pain at all.  In a way… it seem useless.

Emotions are strange strange things.  It’s one of those twisted things that lead  me to a higher meaning in life, because I just find that it would absolutely ridiculous to have all this emotional intelligence when it has absolutely no meaning after all.

Leave a Reply

