Quinoa

Not so much a recipe…. just wanted to say how great this stuff is.  I don’t have it nearly enough.

The Incas referred to it as the mother of all grains.  It’s not really a grain but that’s a different story.  It has a very high protein content and has a complete set of balanced amino acids for humans.  And you can pretty much substitute it for rice… couscous things of that nature.

I like eating it for breakfast…. served warm with milk, fruit, and a little bit of sugar.  It can be eaten savory as well.  I really must try using it in different dishes.

Tastespotting has some awesome ideas

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. savorysimple
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 15:04:48

    I want to like quinoa but I’m never sure what to do with it! I like the milk and fruit idea, I’ll give it a try. I know it’s so healthy and I’m always trying to incorporate a variety of healthy foods into my diet. I always just draw a blank with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

