Thanksgiving Recipes

Family annoyances aside, I am late posting this… but I took some random pics of Thanksgiving food and recipes that I made lol.  My goal is to one day make some kind of photo cookbook but I’ll admit, it is not high on my priority list.  I failed though in taking pics of all the finished dishes and worst of all, failed to take a pic of the finished crepe cake!!!!!!!  But I am gonna make it again so I’ll get a pic of it then.

First up my cranberry sauce, which simply consisted of boiling the juice of 2 oranges, their zest and about a cup and a half of sugar.

Then adding some cranberries… I love how pretty fresh cranberries look.

Let them boil until they burst open.

And then I add pecans.  Done.  It sets up into a nice jellied sauce as it cools.

Pink Stuff is next.

Pink Stuff consists to cool whip, a can of crushed drained pineapple, a can of cherry pie filling, and a can of sweetened condensed milk.  And chopped nuts, if you wish.  You simply combine it all together and then eat it.

Here is the stuffing recipe.  Sometime was off about it this year.  I think it was b/c I made it the night before and then rewarmed up in the oven the next morning.  Usually it is the best thing ever.

  • 12 tablespoons butter (1 1/2 sticks)
  • 2 cups finely-chopped onions
  • 3 tart apples, cored and chunked,but not peeled (Jonathan, Winesap or Granny Smith)
  • 1 lb bulk breakfast sausage with sage (like Jimmy Dean)
  • 3 cups coarsely crumbled cornbread
  • 3 cups coarsely crumbled whole-wheat bread or multi-grain bread
  • 3 cups coarsely crumbled French bread or Italian bread
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried sage
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 1/2 cups shelled pecans

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
Melt half the butter in a large skillet.
Add onions and cook over medium-low to medium heat until tender and lightly browned, about 25 minutes.
Remove onion and butter from pan and put in a very large bowl to be mixed later.
In same skilled, melt rest of the butter, add apple, and cook quickly over high heat until lightly browned, but not mushy.
Remove apples and butter from pan and put in the bowl with the onions.
With the pan back on the burner, add sausage, crumbling as you cook it over medium heat, and cook until lightly browned.
When done, remove with a slotted spoon and add it to the mixing bowl.
Reserve drippings for basting later.
Add remaining ingredients to the mixing bowl and combine gently.
If you’re going to stuff a turkey, cool completely in the refrigerator first.
To cook it as a separate dressing, spoon the mixture into a large casserole (13 x 9 or slightly larger), cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30- 45 minutes at 325, basting occasionally with cooking juices from the turkey or with reserved sausage fat, if needed.
Uncover the pan for the last 10 minutes of cooking to brown.
Serve hot or warm.
Note: You may need to use additional broth as necessary to adjust the moistness of the stuffing to your taste, or if there are insufficient drippings from your poultry. I usually keep a couple of extra cans on hand just in case

*** Instead of reserving any dripping from the sausage I just tossed it all right in there and added some broth as the stuffing was in the oven…I don’t even think I needed to use a whole can and it was very moist and delicious.

My wild rice with peppers turned out okay.  I got a little pepper happy which really didn’t turn out to be my thing after all.

Next up was three cheese garlic potatoes.  I made 2 pans, one for Thanksgiving and one for dinner that night.  Sooo good, but hello potatoes swimming in a sea of fat lol

  • 1 1/2 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp butter, divided
  • 1 pint heavy cream
  • 2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4-6 slices Provolone cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesean or ramono cheese

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease 1 1/2 qt backing dish with butter or nonstick spray. Layer half of the potato slices on bottom of pan. Dot with 1/2 the butter pinched into small pieces. Arrange 1/2 of garlic over that, and then pour 1/2 of the heavy cream over top. Sprinkle layer with 1 cup cheddar cheese and repeat, finally topping with Provolone cheese slices. Season layers and top with salt & pepper. Bake for 1-2 hour in oven, then sprinkle parmesean or ramono cheese on top to create cheese crust. Continue baking for another 30 minutes or until potatoes are fork tender.

And then there was the crepe cake.

This is the recipe for the crepe cake:

For the crêpes batter:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3 cups milk
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 7 tbsp. sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • vegetable oil

The day before serving the cake, make the crepe batter and the pastry cream. For the batter, cook the butter in a small pan until brown like hazelnuts. Set aside. In another small pan, heat the milk until steaming; allow to cool for 10 minutes. In a mixer on medium-low speed, beat together the eggs, flour, sugar and salt. Slowly add the hot milk and browned butter. Pour into a container with a spout, cover and refrigerate overnight.
To make the crepes, bring the batter to room temperature. Place a nonstick or seasoned 9-inch crepe pan over medium heat. Swab the surface with the oil, then add about 3 tablespoons batter and swirl to cover the surface. Cook until the bottom just begins to brown, about 1 minute, then carefully lift an edge and flip the crepe with your fingers. Cook on the other side for no longer than 5 seconds. Flip the crepe onto a baking sheet lined with parchment. Repeat until you have 20 perfect crepes.
For the vanilla pastry cream:

  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch, sifted
  • 3 1/2 tbsp. butter

Bring the milk to a boil. Turn off the heat and stir in the vanilla extract then set aside for 10 minutes. Fill a large bowl with ice and set aside a small bowl that can hold the finished pastry cream and be placed in this ice bath.
In a medium heavy-bottomed pan, whisk together the egg yolks, sugar and cornstarch. Gradually whisk in the hot milk, then place pan over high heat and bring to a boil, whisking vigorously for 1 to 2 minutes. Press the pastry cream through a fine-meshed sieve into the small bowl. Set the bowl in the ice bath and stir until the temperature reaches 140 degrees on an instant-read thermometer. Stir in the butter. When completely cool, cover and refrigerate.
To assemble the cake:

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 tablespoons Kirsch
  • icing sugar (optional)

Whip the heavy cream with the tablespoon sugar and the Kirsch. It won’t hold stiff peaks but that’s okay. Fold it into the pastry cream.
Lay 1 crepe on a cake plate. Using an icing spatula, completely cover with a thin layer of pastry cream (about 1/4 cup). Cover with a crepe and repeat to make a stack of 20, with the best-looking crepe on top. Chill for at least 2 hours. Set out for 30 minutes before serving. If you have a blowtorch for creme brulee, sprinkle the top crepe with 2 tablespoons sugar and caramelize with the torch; otherwise, dust with confectioners’ sugar. Slice like a cake.

*******

Okay so it looks a little labor intensive or at least complicated, but not really.  I admit that when making crepes before I’ve never chilled the batter or let it chill over night but this time I did.  I don’t really notice any difference TBH.  The crepe batter here is probably one of the best crepe batter recipes I have ever had in my life.  I ate the crepes I destroyed lol  They are sweet and vanilla-y.

And I did destroy a lot of crepes.  Next time I make this, a new pan for making crepes comes first.  I have never had a problem making crepes before.  I don’t know if was the batter or just my pan or a combo of both but I destroyed almost as many as I made.  I did finally manage though to get enough for my cake.

The pastry cream was pretty easy as well.

Assembling the cake was a little tougher than I imagined.

I didn’t use Kirsch b/c well I don’t have any and wasn’t gonna buy any.  So I just whipped up the cream and sugar and mixed it with the pastry cream as directed.  Mmmm real whipped cream.

It would have been best to use a premeasured amount of filling for each layer but I just eyeballed it so my crepe cake was not pretty and uniform.

Overall I really liked the way it tasted.  It was pretty much what you would expect… crepe yumminess.
Since everything was vanilla flavored it tasted like creamy vanilla goodness.  It could have used some more flavor though.  I would like to experiment with adding some different flavorings to the pastry cream/filling.  For some reason almond filling seems like it would be kick ass.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Strickland
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 01:28:17

    Oh yum. I think I gained 5 pounds just reading this entry. I think the only recipe on here that I would feel competent to make would be the pink stuff. Everything else looks like you’d need to actually possess cooking ability. But it all looks so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

