My Poor Snickers

My rat Snickers is dying.  =(  He’s a bit over 2 years old… I think.  He might be a bit older and has come up on the typical lifespan of a rat.  Just Wednesday he was romping around his cage acting like a young rat.  Yesterday Ki told me he was acting funny so I checked up on him.  Sure enough he was stumbling around his cage.  I watched him closer and realized that he was acting very lethargic, seemed confused, was limping and stumbling and was randomly falling over when he tried to walk.  I opened the door to his caged and petted him and he didn’t bounce around as he normally does and he seemed puzzled and confused by me petting him and would let out random squeaks.  I consulted with some of my friends who know pet rats a little better than I and they told me that yup, this was signifying that the end was coming.

I put some extra bedding in his cage so he could be cozy and gave him some mashed banana which he ate.  He tried to go do some of his rat things but it was so sad to watch as he keeps falling over and will stop and suddenly seem extremely confused.  I just checked on him and he is laying on his towel in the corner of his cage breathing very  heavily but is still alert.  I hope that he goes peacefully.  I really do not want to end up at the vet having to have a rat put down but I don’t want him to suffer either.

I know I know… it seems weird perhaps to many to have so much compassion for a rat.  Most people see rats as vermin but pet rats are such smart interesting little creatures.  Although I admit, Snickers is on the dumb side for a rat lol I’ve really enjoyed his company the past couple years we have had him.  When he goes we will no doubt get another rodent or two, probably 2 rats.  Snickers never had a friend because I didn’t realize when I got him that rats do best with a friend.

I just really hate this part… when they get sick and old and pass on.  Since we’ve started having a small rodent friend or friends we have had 2 mice, 3 hamsters, and Snickers.

The 2 mice lived for quite a while.  Fatty & Skinny were there names.  Well, Fatty got a gnarly tumor.  It was disturbing.  Skinny eventually died of old age.  They lived for… geez… 3-3.5 yrs?  Quite a long time for mice.  Then we had the first 2 hamsters.  Jesus and Mrs. Buttersworth.  We didn’t realize hamsters hate each other and will fight… once we did we separated them.  Mrs. Buttersworth was a nightmare and I honestly hated that hamster lol  I swear she constantly flung poo out of her cage and was just a horrible annoying rodent.  But she didn’t last long… for some reason she died about about a month or 2 after we got her. It was the only time in my life I haven’t been sad or somewhat bummed that a pet passed.  I felt evil.    Jesus lived to be an old hammie.  He was the most awesome hammie ever.  Then we tried another hamster, a dwarf hamster named Fun Size who promptly died about a week after we got her.  That’s when I got Snickers.

That also doesn’t count the 5-6 mice I had growing up.

At any rate… rodents force you to confront your pet dying more often than you would like.  I really wish I could hold and pet my ratty so he knew he wasn’t alone but he seems disgruntled by any pettings at this stage he is in.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T.R.
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 11:20:13

    Here from Holidailies. I’m sorry that Snickers seems to be waning. I hope his days are peaceful, and yours as well.

    Reply

  2. Wendie
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 19:40:51

    Aww, I’m sorry to hear about Snickers :o(

    Reply

  3. Jim
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 21:39:54

    You (and Snickers) have my sympathy. We have had rats and rabbits and hamsters and are now living with an elderly cat. The loss of a beloved pet is always painful.

    Reply

  4. rcipfw
    Dec 13, 2009 @ 00:14:08

    Thank you all for your kind thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

