Pinky & the Brain

I tend to replace (I don’t really mean replace but you know what I mean) rodent friends quickly when they die.  It brings some happiness back and it is less time I have to walk by an empty cage and keep associating it with  sadness.

I told Ki that this time I wanted dumbo rats and this time we would be getting a pair.  I was felt bad that Snickers never had a rat friend.

I got lucky and found my pair of dumbo rats.  Two little males… both young, a few months. Once I saw that one had pink eyes, I immediately felt compelled to call him Pinky… and of course the only logical explanation would be to name the other one Brain.

(If you don’t know about the cartoon Pink & the Brain…. well shame on you lol)

The names are fitting as well… Brain is the more dominant rat and Pinky follows his buddy around.  Brain is more independent, while Pinky is quite the cuddly little rattikin.

They are both already so much more calm than Snickers was.  Brain did some exploring on the couch the other night and then sat down in the crook of my arm and just sat there calmly.  Pinky actually laid down beside me like he was a little cat or something lol  And tonight he sat on my shoulder and watched TV with me for about 45 minutes.

Now that I have 2 I see why it is so important to have them in pairs.  They cuddle with each other, sleep together, groom each other, and play together.

I am trying to socialize them extremely well.  I could have done a better job with Snickers.

These little dudes just amuse me and the more I learn about them the more fascinated I am.  It just never fails to amaze how social and smart a rodent can be.  It really is a shame that most people have been conditioned to think of rats as ‘icky’ that they wouldn’t even consider having them as a pet.  They are such rewarding little creatures to have.

Thanks for making this a Best of Holidailies 2009 post!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. basykes
    Dec 18, 2009 @ 17:34:26

    Rats are GREAT pets. We haven’t had any since our kids were living at home, but I really enjoyed having rats.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 17:19:16

    So sweet! Thank you for posting this & congrats on the new pets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

