Year in Review

I said I wasn’t gonna do one of these because most of 2009 really is a blur to me, but I guess it is good to sit back and reflect once in a while because I haven’t really stopped and done that this year. So I grabbed this end of year review from over at Stone Girl’s Blog: Musings of a Cynical Optimist

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

So many things! None of which I’ve really set back, reflected, and gave myself credit for except for maybe 46 seconds afterwards. Most notably I photographed a quincenera and 2 weddings! along with some other gigs. I also became an aunt!

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I stopped making New Year’s resolutions a long time ago… I tend to be bad at keeping them.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

As noted, I became an auntie to Mr. Tristin Joe who is now 6 months old. He is absolutely a huge chunk of my heart.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

I think I might have escaped that this year.

5. What countries did you visit?

I’ve been straight chillin’ in the USA for a while now.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Money lol
I would also like some more motivation which seemed to wane in the latter part of 2009. And time. Time would be nice.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Several…
Jan. 20th…. the inauguration of President Obama.
The days that I photographed the quince and weddings.
The night one of my friends completely screwed up.
The day of my sister’s baby shower which I hosted.
The day my nephew was born.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Definitely breaking out into the photography world and putting myself out there. That was HUGE.
Passing statistics was pretty sweet too lol

9. What was your biggest failure?

I don’t feel like I failed at anything this year. Any thing that was a bummer was a learning experience.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I’m an anxious person, this means I have suffered 800 heart attacks and 57 strokes this year.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The Canon 40D…duh

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

I was pleased how everything and everybody came together and acted at my sister’s baby shower.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Somebody who was supposed to be a close friend, who did something really really stupid.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Bills lol

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

The birth of my nephew, getting my new camera, editing the pictures from the events and gigs I photographed.

16. What song(s) will always remind you of 2009?

Whenever I hear fucking Lady Gaga I’ll think of 2009.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. Happier or sadder? Quite a bit happier i would think
ii. Thinner or fatter? Maybe a wee bit thinner, I’m not sure.
iii. richer or poorer? About the same

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Photographed more of the daily stuff in my life.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Freaking out, as usual.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

My Christmas experiences can be found by scrolling down my blog.

21. How many one-night stands?

Why yes I have a night stand. Oh wait.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Law & Order SVU

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I only hate 2 people in this world, it is an exclusive list.

24. What was the best book you read?

Probably one of the graphic novels I got over the course of the year, but nothing is really standing out at the moment.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Blueprint 3 FTW

26. What did you want and get?

A camera and some photo gigs.

27. What was your favorite film of this year?

Probably UP, it was so cute.

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Ha, I don’t even remember what I did. Damn. There’s an explanation of my age in the about me section of my blog haha

29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Finding stuff that is more classic… as in, it won’t be out of style by next year.

30. What kept you sane?

Apparently my medication.

31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I just loved Jay-Z this year… Blueprint 3 was my jams for like 3 months.

32. What political issue stirred you the most?

Watching the inauguration really moved me. That is about as political as I got this year.

33. Who did you miss?

Missed not seeing my MIL this year a lot.

34. Who was the best new person you met?

My nephew, of course!

35. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

See the last 2 lines of the song lyric that sums up my year.

36. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Impossible is nothing, your environment’s irrelevant//
just don’t let your emotions overpower your intelligence//
refuse to give up, your mistakes don’t define you//
they don’t dictate where you’re headed, they remind you//

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stonegirl
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 21:29:26

    I could use a bit more motivation in the coming year. That’s a good thought.

    Love the song lyrics. Who is it?

    Happy 2010!

    Reply

    • rcipfw
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 02:21:15

      Your comment got lost in my spam filter, thanks for stopping by! The song lyric was actually from a T.I. song, imagine that hehee

      Reply

Leave a Reply

