Most Photographers Hate Selective Coloring. Still. Possibly More Now.

Or at least, this is my “let’s dump everybody into one category” assumption that I make with my readings.  I know not EVERYONE hates it, let’s just go with most.  They’ve been hating it.  Since like 2007.  Possibly longer.

I however, do not.  I rather like it in moderation.  And I still find that a lot of potential clients find it interesting.  Maybe it is b/c nobody around here has flooded the shit out of the market with it.

I think the key to selective coloring is you just can’t selective color every image.  Or just anything in the image.  And the image has to be set up in a way that the selective color manages to be eye catching and visually pleasing.  I’ve played with selective coloring things in images that I immediately trash after seeing how it comes out.  Sometimes it seems like it could be visually pleasing but it just is not.  At all.

I view selective coloring in images the same way I view the way I saturate or desaturated my colors, use black & white, use filters, lighting digitally etc…  simply what works with this image?  Some of  my images I much prefer in black & white.  Some I like to blow out some colors.  Others I wouldn’t dream of having in anything but color.

Hell I’ve been playing with selective coloring in images since 2004 or so.  I think the reason I don’t mind not crucifying it is because I never abused it.  And I never present it to people as the only option.  I’ve always up to this point given color spotted images as, hey if you like this… here yah go.  Maybe I’m special but most people get a kick out of a great carefully selected color spotted aka selectively colored image.

So yeah that was my random photography thought of the day.

However, I will give the selective coloring haters this one… selective coloring eyes only is 99.9999% start punching shit worthy.  Google image it, self explanatory.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nat
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 00:58:43

    I’ve seen it done a few times where it seemed appropriate and artistic… but most of the time when I see it done it just seems weird and very random. I think that makes all the difference.

    Reply

  2. Raychela
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 02:00:36

    It is so subjective I think lol
    For myself, I rarely use it. If I think somebody might enjoy it, I play around with it. My 2 weddings last year loved it. I only did a pop of color with flowers though. Cliche yes… but fun. I liked using it for a couple pics in my sis’s maternity pics. I tend to find that people who aren’t staring at different photo styles often tend to get find it more amusing. Much like I did when I first started hehe

    Reply

  3. Jerod
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 19:46:18

    My brain feels like it’s being squeezed by a vice and shaved with a cheese grater every time I see selective coloring. If the subject matter of the photo is good enough on its own, one does not need to employ a gimmick to make it a better photo.

    /rant

    Reply

  4. Raychela
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 02:43:11

    Noted =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

