Fast

I am literally sick of the internet but the show must go on.  I turns out that turning your attention to social networking online for your craft… can be a wee bit of a time sucker eh?  It feels like it could become a part time job that I don’t get paid for.  On the plus side, my finicky social needs are quite often met easily these days.  I quite often go between OMG MUST INTERACT WITH PEOPLE NOW to NEED QUIET TIME NOW.  Classes/husband/friends meet the first one 90% of the time and if that isn’t fulfilling enough… BOOM INTERNET FOREVER lol.  The second one… well computer gets turned off, I tolerate class, and my husband and friends are likely to feel a little bit brushed off but hey, if they have known me all these years they should know how I operate by now.  When I need quiet time, I need quiet time.  In that respect I am perhaps a bit like a toddler who can’t take too much overstimulation.

I live in a strange world where yes, I do get overwhelmed and overstimulated quite honestly a lot… but at the same time I often find myself thriving a bit on the chaos.  I often times like to be constantly busy with something, to have my mind always working towards some outside goal.  If I don’t do that then my mind shifts to an internal state, where I over think everything and start to drive myself crazy with my own thoughts.  I can’t be “inside myself” for too long without starting to pick at myself.  I like too that when I’m so completely busy, I find things… thoughts, ideas, inspiration… coming a lot more natural, almost instinctual.  My best most productive work comes from when I’m in that state.  And if I do get a chance to over think it, I never have that long to do so, ha.

The only thing I really do dislike is 1) There truly aren’t enough hours in 1 day and 2) It often times feels like I close my eyes and open them and a week has flown by.  I don’t like life feeling like a blink of  an eye, because as far as I know, I only get to do all this once and I don’t want to wake up one day and wonder where 10 years went… because some days I already feel that way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 13:10:54

    I read an interesting article the other day about how being introverted isn’t the same as being shy– introverted means you do okay in social situations, but you need alone time to recover. *ding ding ding!* Oh hai, me. And you, sounds like. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Raychela
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 10:11:34

    Yup that definitely sounds like me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

