Thanksgiving 2010

Thanksgiving went rather smoothly.  I prepared everything Wednesday night so it could just be thrown in the oven Thanksgiving morning, which was in many ways completely brilliant on my behalf.  There was pretty much nothing to do on Thanksgiving but rotate things in and out of the oven.  I didn’t get to sleep until nearly 3am though and then woke up at 7 am sweating and gasping from a horrible nightmare and at that point I was up, which was bad because 4 hours of sleep for me is killer.  All morning I had horrible anxiety for a reason I couldn’t quite figure out to the point that I kind of wished I had something to take the edge off.  It finally dawned on me that for whatever reason I was just anxious to get everybody there and start everything.  I hadn’t seen my dad in a couple years, I think I was just anxious about him arriving too.  As soon as people started arriving I was fine.  Just crazy anticipatory anxiety I guess.  I’m weird like that.   The things that never gets old after Thanksgiving to me is apparently realizing that so much time and money was put into one meal.  It is worth though to celebrate with family.

There was so much food!

  • Turkey
  • Ham… because my dad insisted upon a ham.  It turned out really good, I’d never cooked a ham before
  • Stuffing
  • Fresh creamed corn
  • Sweet potatoes
  • 3 cheese garlic potatoes
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Cheesy veggies & rice
  • Basil deviled eggs… which were complete fail, because apparently even grown adults can’t handle their egg yolks being green but they were so good.  I guess you have to like basil too tho…
  • Green bean casserole
  • Hawaiian butter roles
  • Pink Stuff
  • Indian Pudding
  • Cherry Pie
  • Gingerbread Trifle

And… I think that is it lol

Of course I really shouldn’t be eating gluten by I had to have some of my stuffing and my cheesey rice & veggies (gluten in the soup used in it).. figured I would suffer a bit for Thanksgiving.  Tummy is a bit bloated but I’ll live.

Saturday we have decided to go to my mom’s to have a Thanksgiving dinner of sorts with her.

Tristin is a handful now.  Walking and getting into everything.  It makes you sort of miss when he was a blob but somehow he just manages to get 20x cuter every damn year.  He is so adorable to watch football with, he gets so excited and yells “FOOTBALL!!” and then throws his arms up and yells “Touchdown” or his variation of it.  It is like the cutest damn thing you will ever witness in your life.

Leave a Reply

