Cleaning & Organizing

My goal for the rest of the winter break is to get things cleaned up and organized through out the house, something I’ve been wanting to do for months now but never seemed to have the time. I spent about 3 hours in the bathroom/laundry room tonight cleaning, scrubbing, doing laundry, and organizing since it is easily one of the most neglected rooms in the house. I didn’t even know you could spend that long cleaning a bathroom/laundry but I also didn’t know that a bathroom/laundry room could get so dusty, among other things. On a random note, did you know that The Works toilet bowl cleaner is the best toilet cleaner ever made? It’s the stuff that costs like a $1.50. I had been spending like 3 bucks for Lysol toilet cleaner for months and then in a moment of poor-dom bought The Works again. The stuff removes almost all the rust stains from the toilet with a bit of elbow grease! Whoa, Lysol never did that. I stood admiring my sparkling white toilet bowl for a few seconds lol

My biggest project is the bedroom, the most neglected room in the house, simply because it is so easy to toss things in there and shut the door and be done with it.  I’m the only one who has to look at my bedroom.  I went in tonight and cleaned up the random papers, magazines, and other things to be trashed floating around just to get a start.  But there is so much to do in there.  Baskets of clothes to hang up, clothes to go through and see what needs to be donated, knick knacks that need to be gone through.  And then there are my baskets and steralite drawers of projects to tackle.  Besides cleaning and organizing I would like to take some time the next week and a half to work on some stuff.  But I also need to decide which ones I am dedicated on working on and if any others I have just outgrown the inspiration to do it… or what.

On the first we will probably take down the Christmas tree and other Christmas decor.  I often leave up some other winter decor like my snowman stuff until about March.  Don’t know if I will this year… we’ll see.  I am hoping for a mild day to take down the Christmas lights outside.  I’ll miss them =/.

My bookshelf needs gone thru.  There’s books on it I’ve never read, that I should read… and then decide if I want to keep them or pass them on.

In a couple weeks I am hoping to redo the bathroom with a new waste basket, shower curtain, etc.  Meijers has a beautiful cherry blossom (go figure right? haha) bathroom set that I’ve had my eye on for a while.

Other goals I have that I would like to get a move on is organizing my external harddrive.  I still haven’t found a great way to organize all my pictures on it where I can find everything easily.  Plus I need to back up my laptop.  I don’t anticipate it holding out on  me for too much longer and am fearful it will take a crap on me before I get everything backed up.  I would also like to figure out what to do with my website, it has gone pretty much untouched for months and months after I just grew frustrated with trying to define my photography at that given moment.  And I would love to get prints of all the pictures for our albums and organize them all.  I’m sick of everything being on a harddrive.

So we’ll see how much I get accomplished.  A lot would be nice.

Leave a Reply

