This is a weird thing to post…

when I haven’t posted in a while and there is so much going on right now but I’ve been trying to distract myself a bit and then this just spoke to me

 

 

From this Sunday’s Post Secrets.

 

I believe in God.  And I have worked hard the past few years to re-establish my relationship with a concept of  God.  Because for a while… it was so hard for me believe.  And that was so confusing because before that, I had always felt so close and so loved by a higher power.  I had no doubts.

And even though I believe, I have respect for people who don’t believe.  I don’t judge them, I don’t think they’re wrong, I don’t think they’re going to hell, I respect them, I have absolutely no negative thoughts or feelings whatsoever.  I want them to believe in whatever they feel comfortable believing.  Regardless of what another person believes, if there is an afterlife, I believe we all essentially end up in the same place.  And if there isn’t an afterlife, we all end up in the peace of non-existence.

But I truly truly wish for nothing more than religious tolerance and respect… because religious intolerance and disrespect causes so many problems in this world.  And I know that a lot of religious people have horrible things to say to those who do not believe in religion, but I also know that those who do not believe in religion, have horrible things to say to those who do believe.  The road goes both ways.  It is no more empowering to be religious and look down on those who are not than it is to be not religious and look down on those who are.

At the end of the day, we are are all on the same path.  However we choose to get there deserves respect.

Leave a Reply

