Crap. It’s Thursday.

I need to….

  • Send out Christmas cards
  • Wrap Christmas presents for this weekend’s family get together
  • Go buy some yummy treats to make
  • Wasn’t I going to sew Tristin a blanket?…
  • Color my hair and get a trim
  • Finish Christmas shopping for my husband

It’s really not that much… it just feels that way after finishing up the semester.

I managed to find my BIL a 4 slice toaster that I could afford tonight!  And it was stainless steel/black and came with extra wide slots.  So I got it and will take back the other one.  I still think the 2 slot one was nicer, but after the hard sell I got from my sister about the 4 slice toaster (apparently there’s just never enough toast in that house lol)… I would rather think I got him something he wanted and would keep than something that would be possibly returned.

I dunno what I want to make for yummy Christmas treats.  Candy coated pretzels are a must.  Hmmm truffles maybe.  I’m torn between Oreo truffles or Oreo fudge.  I made baklava for the first time last year… I think I need to make it again since I can make a giant pan for a fraction of the cost to buy it already made.  Last year I found my syrup recipe for the baklava to be too citrusy though…I think it was too much lemon.  I think I ended up using too much zest.  And I didn’t have any cardamom so I left it out, but I think it was a very missed spice.  I might search the web for other variances of baklava recipes to see what other people are spicing up their syrups with.

I wanted to make French macarons this year… as gifts mostly… but it was one of those things that just didn’t happen so it is already on my to do list for next year.  I’ve never made them before and I hear they can be testy… Christmas is making me broke enough so I didn’t really want to bother buying the supplies needed to attempt to make perfect macarons.  I also wanted to make meringue cookies…which are so easy except… I have no good mixer to beat the egg whites.  My old $5 set of beaters is on it’s last stand… one of the… beating…things… no longer inserts so I’ve just got one.  It’s a sad situation when it comes to my baking life.  I asked for a nicer new one for Christmas.  Someday…someday…. I will have a Kitchen-Aid mixer.

I want to bring something super yummy to my sister’s dinner besides some sweets…right now I’m stumped…just browsing through Tastespotting….drooling.

And speaking of Tastespotting…I just found a post where someone had used the same cookie cutter that I bought last week…

This bad boy:

7.5″ of snowflake cookie goodness.  Dammit.  I had even forgotten I had bought it!  My intention?  One stunning cookie for every body as part of their gift.  I am wondering if through the magic of ready made sugar cookie dough, if I still can’t pull this one off.

….

I called my sister tonight and Tristin decided he needed to talk to me so she gave him the phone… I have never heard him jabber so much to me.  He was excitedly telling me about making candy with him mom.  I can’t believe he is 2 and a half already… I really really can’t.  I also can’t believe how much he can talk to me now and express ideas. On Thanksgiving he sat on my lap looking at pictures and he would come up with these little stories about the pictures and tell me about it… I’m like you’re 2.5…when did you learn to do this? lol   When I hear his little voice my heart completely melts.  I somewhat get what it must feel like to have a child of your own and love it and would do anything for it, because that is how I feel about Tristin.  It isn’t exactly like he is my own I am sure, but pretty damn close.  I would defend that little boy with my life.  I’m so excited to go to Christmas dinner at my sister’s and unwrap pressies with him!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. JohnSherck
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 13:36:37

    It just occurred to me that it’s kind of surprising that I’ve never tried to make baklava–we love it and I cook / bake all the time, but I’ve never put those two loves together. I’ll have to try it this year, now that you’ve mentioned it.

    Our daughter’s almost 2. It really is amazing how much she’s changed over the last 6 months, 12 months, etc., and the things she can do now. Compete sentences?! Where did those come from? There’s a real sense in which I kind of feel like I didn’t really understand what love was until I had a child–it sounds like being an aunt has given you a taste of that kind of experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

