Christmas at our house is always messy.

Well it may not be Christmas yet, but tomorrow we are having a Christmas gathering at my sister’s house so Friday was filled with lots of last minute stuff.  Thursday too.

Thursday I started out on my journey into town to pick up some things and by the time I got home I was in the worst mood ever.  People were just being rude *sigh*  I tried not to let the bad mood I was getting from all the negative self entitled energy effect me (after all I didn’t want to come off the same) but it was so hard.  I try so hard to remember that everybody there is feeling mostly just like me… they just want to get in, get what they need, and get the hell out.  But there’s always those few individuals…who just seem like they are trying really super hard to get under your skin.

So today when I had to go back out to go to the post office and pick up a couple things I was expecting the worst.  Especially one of the highways leading from my house to the store was extremely busy because this highway is never busy, not even during rush hour usually.   But I made it to the post office to mail off the majority of my Christmas cards and it was mostly dead.  I strolled right in to the self serve machine, bought stamps, took my happy ass time placing them on the cards in the lobby and walked out without so much of a hint of MUUUUUUST MAIL STUFF NOOOOOOOOOW drama from anybody.  I went into Sally’s.  I got in my car.  I realized I could go to Big Lots to look for some pans.  I spent too much money in Big Lots and came out with more than pans.  I was sad that I had to go the grocery store for some premade cookie dough.  I ran in and grabbed it, I got out pretty quickly. I went home and started making a lot of yummy stuff…after I managed to peel myself off the ‘net.

I made candy coated pretzels, oreo fudge, I tried out my big snowflake cookie cutter which was frustrating because my gas oven still hates making cookies… I have the chocolate for the truffles in the fridge and I made baklava.  I’m not big on baking at all, but I enjoyed making the baklava.  Brushing the butter on the sheets of dough reminded me of painting lol  I played with the recipe for the syrup this year and I’m much happier than with the one from last year.  It has a lot more depth.

I doubled my syrup recipe too because I didn’t know how much to make since my baklava turned out to be a little bigger this year.  I ended up with quite a bit of left over syrup but I guess it was better to have too much than too little.  I ended up using 2 cups of sugar (eeps I know right), 1 cup of honey, 1.5  cups of water, a teeny bit of lemon zest very finely grated, around a tablespoon or so of fresh lemon juice, some orange zest…not a lot, just slightly more than the lemon, and probably around 1/8 cup or so of fresh orange juice.  I then added about 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ground cloves, and what really ended up giving it a lot of depth… somewhere around 1.5 tsp of rose water.  The syrup is great.  You’re immediately hit with the sugar and the honey, but then there is this freshness of the citrus and spices which really lighten it up and then it finishes with the beautiful floral note from the rose water.  For a syrup, I manage to impress myself  a bit lol …I kind of just took bits and pieces from about 4 other recipes and concocted my own.

And so Friday was the day I lived on nothing but sugar, which would explain the unhappy stomach.  I’m sitting here sipping a coke right now wondering wtf is wrong with me that I’m drinking a coke after all the damn sugar I’ve had today (purely from living off all the sampling I did of the goodies lol)

I even managed to give the dog a bath tonight.

I’m actually completely exhausted.

So the house as been a mess, the kitchen a mess, there’s the last minute hurry of wrapping presents and baking and cooking and blah blah blah… if Christmas was actually this Sunday I would be sad because I don’t even feel like I’ve gotten to pretty up everything and just sit back and enjoy it.  This year I think I will quite appreciate doing one of the bigger gatherings a week before so I can have a week of hopefully just enjoying the season completely and relaxing.

……

*le sigh*  I got a C in French.  Frustrating because I feel like I worked a hell of a lot harder than that.  Frustrating because I got As and Bs on all of the quizzes… As on the oral projects.  So I guess it was the stuff outside of the quizzes and oral activities that did me in… uggh go figure.  I can’t believe I’m not happy with a C… my goal is just to pass this shit so I can graduate.  A C completes 25% of that goal.  It’s just knowing how hard I did try at it that frustrates me that it wasn’t enough to do better.  Yes, there were things I could have worked even harder at, and I guess I should have. Apparently my life was to be devoted to this one class…damn.  I DREAD next semester for real now.  Oh well… no life for a little bit so I finally finish this crap and move on with life right?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bev
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 19:50:42

    When my kids wewre growing up, we always called Christmas morning “Mom’s Christmas Crisis.” I understand that “mess” stuff!!!

    Reply

  2. KarenD
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 17:25:14

    I had to go to the P.O. that’s right next to the big mall last night and it was surprisingly calm there. The parking lot was a mess, but it usually is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

