2012 Retrospective

Goodbye 2012, it was nice knowing you! (But Grumpy Cat can stay)

 

 

 What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

 Had my own little garden.  Cut, dried, and ground my own herbs.  Experienced the kindness of strangers in an amazing way that I never had before.  Bottle raised a kitten starting when it was 3 weeks old.  Made all kinds of ceramic things.  ‘Threw’ on a pottery wheel.  Pushed mowed an entire large yard with one of those old fashioned push reel mowers (not recommended).  Became an auntie for the second time (hey you can only become one for the 2nd time once right?).  Had a dSLR explode on me.  Folded very small origami cranes.  Saw succulents bloom.  Created an altar.  Made a time lapse photo gif.  Took Tristin to the zoo.  Did still photography for a commercial shoot.  Babysat a toddler and an infant at the same time.  Purchased crystals for myself.  Wrote some fanfic.  Drove in a much larger city than I have ever drove in before.  Watched a movie on the big screen that I was a part of.  Embarked on the The Dark Knight marathon.

 

 Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

 I don’t call them resolutions but it is human nature to take stock of the previous year and think about the upcoming year…. Last year my goal was just to really continue on the journey I was starting to better myself and I am still focused on that journey.  The biggest thing I want to focus on is working meditation back into my life.  Just starting with 20 minutes a day at the least and building up.  I also want to keep a gratitude journal again. I have reaped the benefits of keeping one in the past and want to do that again… if you start to learn to look for things to be grateful for throughout the day, it changes your whole perspective of the world.  I also want to declutter my life… from clothes to cosmetics I don’t use… to the bookmarks folder… to my Facebook friends list.

 

Did anyone close to you give birth?

My sister gave birth to Tysen on September 1st.  I fell in love with him as soon as I saw him.  My heart has grown bigger thanks the addition of another beautiful nephew to love.

 

 Did anyone close to you die?

 My great aunt rejoined my great uncle in the afterlife this fall.  She was very old and had lived a very long fulfilling life.  She and her husband were both wonderful people and I am quite blessed to have so many wonderful memories of them from my childhood.  They were such kind loving people who would do anything for anybody.  I am glad their energies have rejoined.

At the beginning of the year my dad also had to have his beloved Golden Retriever, Lady, put to sleep.  She was old and in bad shape and it was for the best.  It was a loss to us all because we (meaning me and my siblings) had also grown up with Lady and when I lived with my dad as a teen, Lady was very much “my” dog.

 

 What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

Motivation towards classes that I don’t particularly like but have to finish.  I don’t really like the fact that I just do the bare minimum.  In some cases I have been happy with a C, just to get it completed but that’s not really me.  I want to stretch myself a little further since I am graduating soon.

 

 What date(s) from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

  • Tysen being born
  • Going to see the Dark Knight Marathon
  • Election Night
  • Holiday celebrations with family

 

 What was your biggest achievement of the year?

 I overcame a fear that had been plaguing me for nearly 10 years, so that was a pretty big thing to me.

I also confronted another fear just a few weeks ago, one that I normally would have probably tried to run away from.  The thought crossed my mind on several occasions.  I’m glad I had other people depending on me, which pushed me forward… and in the end, they were also there to support me.  

 

What was your biggest failure?

 I don’t really view anything as “failure” as in most cases, the situation can always be salvaged, adjusted, learned from etc.  I think in some cases of I have let myself down by not giving 100% to the situation… so that is something I would like to work on.

 

Did you suffer illness or injury?

No major injuries thank goodness!  I’ve also been pretty healthy this year.  A few colds but all in all this has probably been one of my more healthy years.

 

What was the best thing you bought?

I got my phone at the beginning of the year, an HTC Amaze and I have definitely enjoyed it, so that is at the top of my list.

And I just recently bought the new L’Oreal Caresse Shine Stains and I am OBSESSED!  Best lip product I have ever used in my life.  

 

Whose behavior merited celebration?

The strangers who showed me true kindness this year.

 

 Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

As usual, begins with m and ends with m.  It’s not so much being appalled and depressed anymore, but more of just wanting to understand why…and I know I may never know why.

 

 Where did most of your money go?

Basic necessities… rent… food… bills.

 

 What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Ummm well well well… The Dark Knight Rises came out this summer so I basically spent my whole year excited for that.  The first half of the year excited for it to hit theaters and the last half of the year excited for it to come out on DVD.

 

What song(s) will always remind you of 2012?

Okay Lamborghini Mercy, your chick, she so thirsty…agggghhhhh I HATE this song… and the radio (which I listen to on my way to classes, etc b/c I am not awesome enough to have an iPod hookup in my car and always forget to burn CDs) would not stop playing it.

 

  Compared to this time last year, are you:

 i. Happier or sadder?  The same or a bit happier.  Earlier this summer I was at the happiest I had been in the longest time.

 ii. Thinner or fatter?  The same I think… which I am not exactly pleased about.

 iii. richer or poorer?  Also pretty much the same I think.

 

 What do you wish you’d done more of?

Things that were good for me… reading, going for walks, yoga, meditating

 

 What do you wish you’d done less of?

Driving.  Going too and from classes several times a day now that we live out in the country is so annoying.

 

How will you be spending Christmas?

 Christmas posts below.

 

What was your favorite TV program?

 Through the Worm Hole with Morgan Freeman… ahhh the soothing sounds of Morgan Freeman’s voice while learning about cool things.  Yay.

 

What was the best book you read?

The books required for my religion & violence course.. very thought provoking and eye opening.

 

 What was your greatest musical discovery?

Making a Pink Floyd station on Pandora..why had I not done that before, I don’t know.

 

 What did you want and get?

Well when picking out a new phone at the beginning of the year, I really wanted the HTC Amaze and ended up getting it… so yay lol

I wanted my newest nephew to arrive safely and healthy and for my sister to be safe and healthy in delivering him here and after a bit of a scare we eventually got that.  Everyone is healthy and wonderful now so that is the most important thing.

 

 What was your favorite film of this year?

 Guess!  ;D

 

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

2-8.  On my actual birthday I think we just went out for food, I don’t even remember now!  But my “big” birthday present was going to the Dark Knight Marathon a few days before my actual birthday.

 

 How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Not getting to wear what I wanted most days because of Ceramics.  Nice clothes + clay= no no.

 

 What kept you sane?

Listening to music, attempting to stay present in the moment instead of worrying about the future or dwelling on the past (easier said than done), my herb garden.

 

 Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I still have the biggest fangirl crush ever on Tom Hardy…omnomnom

 

What political issue stirred you the most?

The continuing Israel/Palestine conflict.

 

Who did you miss?

In perfect honesty I’m not really missing anyone at the moment.

 

Who was the best new person you met?

A girl in my ceramics class… she and I became buddies through out the class.  She was really funny and I felt super comfortable around her… something that doesn’t often happen with people for me.  

 

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012:

That you HAVE to live in the present moment.  There is no other.

Leave a Reply

