BzzAgent Review: CoverGirl BlastFlipStick

I was really excited for this campaign. I LOVE makeup,skincare, hair care… all the girly things so when I saw that this campaign had arrived in the mail I couldn’t wait to rip the box open and check it out. I was amazed to receive 3 full sized colors, really wasn’t expecting that!

I knew right off the bat that one of the colors wasn’t going to work. Minx is just hideous. I can’t think of anybody I know who could pull off this color successfully regardless of skin tone. It is a dark brown and the shimmer shade is straight up gold foil. Both look hideous on their own and layered. The gold foil shade somewhat amuses me though for photographic purposes. I am a photographer and I often scout for dramatic makeup to use for photo shoots and the gold end of Minx definitely suits the bill for that purpose.

Product Packaging

Product Packaging

The next color is called Stunner and I was hopeful that maybe it would work. One side is an extremely bright coral and the other side is an orange gold shimmer. While the bright coral shade has potential for bright fresh looks, the texture is extremely gritty to borderline chunky. Like you can see the uneven texture on lips and it looks very unappealing. The orange gold shimmer side is interesting but terribly unflattering on me and is more frost than shimmer and also has the chunky texture.

Base end?  "Main" color?  Something like that.  Bad cell phone picture but only the middle one ended up being truly wearable.

Base end? “Main” color? Something like that. Bad cell phone picture but only the middle one ended up being truly wearable.

Vixen is the only color that is truly wearable for me. One side is a your lips but better berry shade and the other end, well the other end is kind of a shame. It’s an extremely frosty light pink. Thankfully Vixen is smooth in texture and feels comfortable on lips.   I rather like the berry-pink end and can see it as being wearable even if the texture is not extremely moisturizing. The other end though.. by itself it is too frosty and over top the
other shade it only adds frost. Do not want.

Shimmer aka frosty end.  None of the frost shades were wearable.  Interesting?  Shocking?  Maybe, but not wearable.

Shimmer aka frosty end. None of the frost shades were wearable. Interesting? Shocking? Maybe, but not wearable.

I am disappointed by these lipsticks in general. The colors are mostly unflattering (1 shade out of 6 working is not good odds), all of the “shimmer” shades are actually heavy frost, some of the colors have really gross gritty texture, they are not creamy and actually feel a little drying on lips, because of the non creamy texture they aren’t really blendable, and smell/texture/taste combo all around feels cheap. They smell/taste on the plastic side with a hint of vanilla, like some cheapo lipsticks I had as a kid.  On the plus side these lipsticks are really pigmented so if you manage to come across a color you like and it has a good texture… you’ll be great in the whole “this product actually showing up” front.

In good conscious this is not a product I can run around spreading positive Bzz about because from a consumer perspective I would be really upset had I bought this product and wasted my money on it. I am happy to show people the product, give away some coupons if they wish to try, but cannot talk up this product so that it might further influence people to try. This product is what it is, and unfortunately it isn’t great.

Leave a Reply

