I’ve never been able to create a niche for myself in photography… except maybe this.  Natural light.  Natural light is perfect and lovely and amazing.  It changes frequently and that’s one of the beautiful things about it.  Because you can be looking at something and it transforms before you as the light changes.  There’s a rush in capturing a precise moment with that exact lighting before it changes and is gone forever.  To me, that is what photography is about.

The other day I pulled out my strobe… the big one that cost a lot of money…. and I just don’t see how people can enjoy manipulating light.  It’s one of those things my brain doesn’t like.  The process is frustrating to me.  Meanwhile, I have encountered people who love it in the way that I love natural light.  It’s their passion.  We attempt to master light in different ways.

Still… I would like to get better at it.  I just don’t know if I truly have the motivation to do so.  I just don’t care that much.  And I like being a natural light photographer.

This summer I really wanted to work on creating an image a day for my website/blog/whatevertheheckyouwannacallit.  I haven’t been so good at that.  But then again goals of this summer… I haven’t been good at any of them yet.

Leave a Reply

